Tempo Runs….Who Knew!?!?

14 Aug

So i have never tried a tempo run before. I know change is good, but i am afraid of speed!! sounds crazy, but i get such bad head aches after runs where i try too hard. I have had people tell me drink more, do a good cool down after, whatever anyone has told me, i have tried, and nothing works. Maybe if i work my way up to it, maybe that will help. I think i am going to try tempo running to give me something different to do, you know rather than just “running” haha!!

I used the link   http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/calculator  to see how to do it, and i don’t get it…go figure. All those numbers are like a different language to me.

So tomorrow morning will be my first tempo run, with a few girls from Moms RUN This Town. Meeting up at the park at 6AM to see how it is done!!

UPDATE

We did 4 1/8th of a mile sprints. Apparently you are supposed to do your “race pace” but my race pace is SLOW….so i decided to sprint it out. HAHA, after all, i did this in high school, i can do it now. Much to my surprise, i am pretty fast, but just for a VERY short distance. We were supposed to do a lot more, but called it quits and just did a lap around the park instead.

2 Responses to “Tempo Runs….Who Knew!?!?”

  1. Jacy August 14, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Just run! LOL Tempo runs will build up your lung power! I can’t help you on the headaches (cuz I don’t know how to fix them either!), but if you keep the tempo run short, you probably won’t get a *bad* headache. Good luck! can’t wait to run again with you sometime!

    P.S. Change the pic on your page! LOL I have to scroll down a lot just to get to the blog entries! 🙂

    • chasing pavement August 18, 2012 at 3:28 am #

      all fixed, and i completely changed up the whole blog. Learning slowly, but i am getting the hang of this stuff!!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nadeau - Blog With a Soul

Just another WordPress.com site

Savannah & Beyond

Real Estate Photography

Running With Rehse

From start to finish, the journey to my first marathon.

I Heart Running

Vegan, Marathon Runner, Running A Marathon In All 50 States While Chasing A Sub 3 Marathon

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Tambra Means - gingermantra

"Never compare your beginning to someone else's middle" - jon acuff

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

How My World Runs

My adventures in running and a healthy life. Learning as I go!

HayleyHobsonBlog.com

Please note my new Blog address above.....

LocalSportsReviews.com (coming soon)

Sporting Local Athlete Reviews & Listings

Running "Beast Mode"!!!

The impossible is possible.....

natalielong30's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Savannah Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club For Moms of the 2 or 4 legged

The Lambent Life

Living Simply, Simply Living.

