Milestone Half To The Half

26 Aug

Got the shoes ready to go!

So i literally wasn’t planning on running this weekend. Not a race anyways, but Jenn decided to sign my happy butt up for  a half marathon. So with about 5 days to prep for it, and not having ran 13.1 miles since February, i guess you can say i knew i was in for it!!! And that i was!

2 pairs of shoes, and a last minute ride out to Hilton Head Outlets to find my next pair of running shoes, i decided it was a genius idea to run in new shoes!! YAY, i know better, i really do, but i have done 3 half marathons to date, and 2 of those half i wore BRAND spankin new shoes in. I literally got my shoes the day before both races. And they felt just fine, both times. Both times, they were Adidas shoes. Go figure.

I got up bright and early, ok, so i slept through my alarm the first time it went off, but i got it on the second round, i always set 2 alarms just for that reason. I had my PB&J, packed up my GU and water, popped an Excedrin and Imodium(necessity!!)  and i was out the door.

The race was a small one, kinda nice actually, but at the same time, i was like crap, i’m soooooooo coming in last here!!! I am not a fast runner, these legs weigh a hefty amount, you would be surprised that i could run with them at all!! I met Jenn up at the school in Pooler, where i met a couple new people who recently joined our Moms RUN this town chapter. We got in a few pictures then it was off to the start. We started about 10 minutes late, but i took off and felt good! I may have been going with the flow for a while, but my speed was ok, i was staying with most of the people. We ran around a neighborhood, then up the road and onto a closed road, which was nice, no traffic, 4 lanes, plenty of space to run. The whole think started out in the shade, but OMG, the long miles 3-10 full on SUN!! And it was a straight LONG road you could see down for miles. I do not like seeing the people way the heck up in front of me, and i also don’t like to see the people who have already turned around 4 miles ahead of me already heading back to the finish line

Once i finally hit the turnaround point i think we were somewhere in mile 7. Now i just had to re-run that whole road that those others were just passing me on. It was lonely, i was the only one left back there, or was i?? As i was heading back i did see a couple people who were still not quite at the turnaround point, I wasn’t last after all!!!

I refilled my water bottle as needed at every water station, and even stole some ice when they had it. They say its good to hold it in your hands, it keeps your temp down. So i did.  Once we finally got off that long stretch of road, there was only 2 miles left till the finish!! I had it in the bag, but my socks started bunching up on me, i could feel the blister, it was not very comfortable at all….right on the bottom of my foot too. Every time i started running, i was like “ok you can so finish this strong, no walking allowed” then 3 seconds later i was walking, thinking “RUN you will get done faster” I don’t know why i walked so much, i think its all mental. I need to work on that.

I could see the school just ahead and i see Jenn running towards me!! all the while thinking wow how am i catching up to her so fast right now, lol, she was coming to run me into the finish line!! I actually had 2 chauffeurs run me into the finish!! Dawn and Jenn!! I wanted to sprint it out so bad at the end, it was so close yet so far away, but even just the tiny bit of speed i picked up when they were running with me gave me a side cramp.

I made it over the finish line in 2:41:16.  3 minutes slower than my Tybee half, which was in February. The most i have ran at one time since then was 6.6 miles….i can’t be mad about that.

Medal, Bib, Bib Holder & Pouch

MRTT mommas!!

relaxing after the finish

12 Responses to “Milestone Half To The Half”

  1. hncotton August 26, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Great job! I can’t imagine that I’ll do that good on Sunday. It’ll be my first half marathon. My only goal is to finish the race. I’m really training for the Shamrock Half Marathon in March. That one is the one I’m going for a time goal.

    • chasing pavement August 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      All you can do is finish!! my very first one i didn’t even care how fast or slow i went, i just wanted to say that i finished!! yesterday was a good run, just a few small hiccups that could have been prevented. I got up and ran 5.5 this morning too, i have officially decided i am crazy….

      • chasing pavement August 27, 2012 at 1:12 am #

        Oh and GOOD LUCK on your first Half!!!!! you will do great!

      • hncotton September 6, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

        Thanks! I did finish! In fact, I did better than I thought I would. 3:34:26. And that’s with a long bathroom break (there was a super long line!) I thought I’d finish closer to 4 hours. But my first mile was a 14 min mile. Ended up averaging 16:22 min mile, so if it hadn’t been for that bathroom break, I would have finished sooner. So I think I did pretty good for my first half marathon! I have an 8k this weekend. Not expecting a lot because I’m now sick and still sore!

  2. Running, Our Way August 26, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    GREAT JOB…especially for no prep and no worn shoes! Also great job getting the blog out quick! Sheeeesh!

    • chasing pavement August 27, 2012 at 1:09 am #

      haha, i have lots of time on my hands, especially after running 13 miles, i sit in front of the computer all day and figure out what i can do that doesn’t involve walking!!

  3. runningforlemonade August 26, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Great job mama!! It may not been the best you’ve done, but you did it and you should be very proud all the same!!

    • chasing pavement August 27, 2012 at 1:13 am #

      Thanks!!! i am ok with it, i just am always striving to do better!! i know that this was along shot after not even training for it. it will just make my RnR that much better!!

  4. Jacy August 27, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    You are seriously a rockstar! I’m sure if I did what you just did, my injury-prone butt would not be running for a month! Sorry about your blistering… was it from the new shoes? Or just sock rub? I need new non-cotton socks… I should check out the outlets again! I love the photos… makes me wish I was there too! Congrats on finishing!

    • Jacy August 27, 2012 at 5:50 am #

      P.S. Where’s my blog on your follow list?!

      • chasing pavement August 27, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        To be honest i have no clue how to add it!! the ones that are on the list, are wordpress, so they automatically get added, that will be next on my list of stuff to learn!!! And you will be right in that list! I promise.

    • chasing pavement August 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Thanks! the shoes i don’t think were what was bothering me, it was the socks bunching up. And yes they were cotton too, i just didn’t expect it. I have worn them before, but i guess not on that long of a run. I wish you cold have come too, you would have smoked us!!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nadeau - Blog With a Soul

Just another WordPress.com site

Savannah & Beyond

Real Estate Photography

Running With Rehse

From start to finish, the journey to my first marathon.

I Heart Running

Vegan, Marathon Runner, Running A Marathon In All 50 States While Chasing A Sub 3 Marathon

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Tambra Means - gingermantra

"Never compare your beginning to someone else's middle" - jon acuff

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

How My World Runs

My adventures in running and a healthy life. Learning as I go!

HayleyHobsonBlog.com

Please note my new Blog address above.....

LocalSportsReviews.com (coming soon)

Sporting Local Athlete Reviews & Listings

Running "Beast Mode"!!!

The impossible is possible.....

natalielong30's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Savannah Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club For Moms of the 2 or 4 legged

The Lambent Life

Living Simply, Simply Living.

