Blue Ridge Marathon GIVEAWAY!!!!!

5 Nov

The time has come!!! I just ran the Savannah Rock N Roll Half Marathon yesterday, now it is time to move onto the NEXT challenge in my running career….it is a career right?? Just one you spend money on, instead of making money on….

Today i open up my blog to everyone who would like to participate in Americas Toughest Road Marathon!! It is on the list of the top 15 of the worlds toughest marathons. I will be choosing a winner at random from my comments to come join me and many of my other moms at Moms RUN This Town who are participating in this event. i will be choosing the winner on november 17th.

From the site:

Local runners have crafted one of the most challenging and beautiful marathons on the east coast. In 2010 the full marathon course included 3,076 feet of total elevation gain and 6,140 feet of total elevation change, but that just wasn’t enough.

The 2012 course includes 3,620 feet of total elevation gain and 7,234 feet of total elevation change. Kind of gives new meaning to runner’s high.

The uphill portions will test each runner’s strength and endurance while the equally challenging downhill sections are sure to weed out those who are unprepared. The breathtaking views and stunning Blue Ridge Mountain scenery will offer some reprieve to runners as they persevere to the finish line! Are you up for the challenge of America’s Toughest Road Marathon?

  • What: Full & Half Marathon. 5-Person Team Relay. Walking Half. YMCA Kids Marathon
  • Where: Roanoke, VA and Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Date: April 20, 2013
  • Start Time: 7:30 am
  • Begins: Taubman Museum of Art
  • Ends: Taubman Museum of Art
  • Total Elevation Change: ~7,234 ft. (full), ~2,500 ft. (half)
  • Most Difficult Section: Roanoke Mountain on Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Awards: All runners receive finisher medals. Top male and top female finisher of full marathon receive a Tag Heuer watch courtesy of Fink’s Jewelers
  • Beneficiary: Friends of the Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Honorary Race Chair: Rep. Bob Goodlatte (Va)
  • Magnificent Views: Plenty

Net proceeds from this race will go to Friends of the Blue Ridge Parkway – the official National Park Service Blue Ridge Parkway’s 501(c)(3) membership organization for visitors to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Friends of the Blue Ridge Parkway works tirelessly to protect, preserve, and enhance the Blue Ridge Parkway – a national treasure!

The organizers would like to thank the National Park Service for its support of this event. We would also like to acknowledge the support of Honorary Race Chair Rep. Bob Goodlatte of Roanoke.

Get Running!

Make A Comment Below for EACH thing, for your chance to win:

Go “LIKE” Moms RUN This Town, Savannah GA – Tell me you did

Go “LIKE” Blue Ridge Marathon On FB

Tweet  –  I Want to #runBlueRidge from @chasnpavement  @brm26pt2 @therunchat  #runchat

and go follow them

Tell Me WHY you run in a comment

Share this on your FB page with the button below

THAT’S IT – SIMPLE

Disclaimer: As an official blogger for the Blue Ridge Marathon I have been provided with a free race registration myself.

15 Responses to “Blue Ridge Marathon GIVEAWAY!!!!!”

  1. running beast mode November 5, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    Liked FB
    Liked BR
    don’t have tweeter….lol
    I run for my family and those that cant’t.

  2. In It for the Shirts (@initfortheshirt) November 5, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I liked MRTT Savannah on Facebook!

  3. In It for the Shirts (@initfortheshirt) November 5, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    I’ve liked the Blue Ridge Marathon on Facebook!

  4. In It for the Shirts (@initfortheshirt) November 5, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    Tweeted and followed!

  5. In It for the Shirts (@initfortheshirt) November 5, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    I run because it keeps me sane! And I get a little competitive with myself too! 🙂

  6. natalielong30Natalie long November 5, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I liked MRTT on Facebook
    I liked Blue Ridge on Facebook
    I tweeted and followed
    I run for peace and for my family 🙂

  7. natalielong30Natalie long November 6, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    I liked MRTT on Facebook

  8. natalielong30Natalie long November 6, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    I liked Blue Ridge Marathon on Facebook

  9. natalielong30Natalie long November 6, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    I run because it makes me feel accomplished 🙂

  10. Kim Thomas November 6, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    I run b/c it’s my freedom!!!

  11. Robin Buchanan November 6, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    I liked MRTT and Blue Ridge Marathon. I don’t have a tweet. I started running for my mental and physical well being. However, it has developed into much more. It has become a great sense of accomplishment for me as I have never done sports or been athletic in anyway at all. And even more, I have met some of the most wonderful and supportive people in the world through running. I cherish all the friendships I have made along the way. I pray that I can run till I am 100 as Jeff Galloway would say.

  12. Kelli Cochrane November 8, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Liked MRTT on FB

  13. Kelli Cochrane November 8, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Like BRM on FB

  14. Kelli Cochrane November 8, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Shared this bolg on FB

  15. Kelli Cochrane November 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Why do I run? I like the challange of the distance, because I know I can do it.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nadeau - Blog With a Soul

Just another WordPress.com site

Savannah & Beyond

Real Estate Photography

Running With Rehse

From start to finish, the journey to my first marathon.

I Heart Running

Vegan, Marathon Runner, Running A Marathon In All 50 States While Chasing A Sub 3 Marathon

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Tambra Means - gingermantra

"Never compare your beginning to someone else's middle" - jon acuff

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

How My World Runs

My adventures in running and a healthy life. Learning as I go!

HayleyHobsonBlog.com

Please note my new Blog address above.....

LocalSportsReviews.com (coming soon)

Sporting Local Athlete Reviews & Listings

Running "Beast Mode"!!!

The impossible is possible.....

natalielong30's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Savannah Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club For Moms of the 2 or 4 legged

The Lambent Life

Living Simply, Simply Living.

