Palmetto Bluff Inaugural Half Marathon

6 Apr

The Date: Sunday, March 10, 2013

The first of my 3 half marathons in one month, some were very last minute.

I was really excited for this race!! Although i have been feeling really guilty with how often i have been racing lately, and the money that needed to be spent, i looked for a kind soul to help pay my way into this race. I honestly wasn’t REALLY expecting anyone to jump up and down to help out, but to my surprise, many people offered up the entry fee to this race!! One of the sweet ladies that i work out with at bootcamp offered to pay, and i immediately felt bad for asking and denied her payment. But it was too late, she just signed me up and i was all registered and everything. It was really so awesome to have someone do that for me. I just love all the people in my life.

Anyways ON to the recap!!!

I stayed at my sisters house the night before this race because, well she lives super close, and that would allow me to sleep in, and i had an automatic awesome sitter for London while i ran. Worked out. (thanks) I got up drove to the bluff, and waited in my CAR…it was freezing out!!!  There were lots of MRTT members running this race and we all were pretty much there sitting in our car with the heaters on, talking over FB. Luckily, being the first race ever here, it was nice and small…so our cars were literally parked at the start and finish, no need to stand out in the cold for hours on end. Once it got to be time i got out and found all my ladies…Jacy and I made up matching shirts a few nights before, so we would match like we did at he race for Donna. Had to rep MRTT again!!

Our sparkle shirts.

Our sparkle shirts.

the back of the shirt.

the back of the shirt.

We did pictures and tried to find everyone and then we were at the start and ready to go!

They started the race, i started my Garmin, and i just kinda stuck with Jacy. She is faster than i am, but i thought, hey i at least will try to keep up with her as long as i can, that way i have a running buddy for most of the time. Well darnit, i did pretty good, i stayed with her all the way up until mile 10, then i was like ummmmm….im right behind you, just keep going. It didn’t take her long to be WAY ahead of me. In just 3 short miles she finished like 4 minutes before i did.

Back to the course. It was just beautiful!! I really enjoyed the race support out there as well. Palmetto Bluff is this little gated town. It has a little convenience store, a restaurant, and some little shops, a HUGE tree house, and then just acres and acres of beautiful houses and huge trees. The course was FLAT. It was one of those courses that you run, and come up to this itty bitty incline and it feels like you are climbing a mountain because you are just used to flat.

Every single person i was out there with PR’d. Of course my Garmin only read out 12.8 miles….so technically it was a bit short. BUT even if it was a full 13.1 course, everyone would have PR’d. I was tracking my run and keeping track of how fast i needed to go that last mile to make sure i get in under 2 hours and 10 minutes. I came in at 2:07:08 for 12.8 miles. That was a MASSIVE PR for me. my last half i did was in 2:35. i took nearly 30 minutes off my time!! AND the medal was amazing!! So far, it is my favorite medal that i have gotten, and the biggest!! love me some bling!

My beautiful new medal!!

My beautiful new medal!!

Enjoy the pictures!!

My race bib says "i love you"

My race bib says “i love you”

Jacy and I

Jacy and I

Girls with our medals

Girls with our medals

Cheer squad!! Tina and Missy were out there cheering us on at mile 10

Cheer squad!! Tina and Missy were out there cheering us on at mile 10

My time

My time

My beautiful new medal!!

My beautiful new medal!!

Found Dawn in the parking lot too!!

Found Dawn in the parking lot too!!

Caught up with Kelli in the parking lot

Caught up with Kelli in the parking lot

MRTT strong!!

MRTT strong!!

getting ready to start

getting ready to start

Looking "sexy" haha

Looking “sexy” haha

at the start

at the start

just tried getting the water view here....

just tried getting the water view here….

mile 5. The signs were all nice.

mile 5. The signs were all nice.

After the race with our medals

After the race with our medals

3 of us at the finish line

3 of us at the finish line

Jacy and her husband Joel

Jacy and her husband Joel

Our sparkle shirts.

Our sparkle shirts.

this was my time and elevation gain.

this was my time and elevation gain.

3 Responses to “Palmetto Bluff Inaugural Half Marathon”

  1. Jacy April 6, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    Loved the race! Definitely more fun with a buddy! As pretty as it was out there, I think if I was running alone, it would have gotten to me mentally because most parts were pretty boring! LOL I do love that medal, it’s simple, elegant and huge!

    • chasing pavement April 7, 2013 at 2:46 am #

      your right, it probably would have been a boring course if it was all by myself!! i always enjoy having company when i run!! glad i could keep up with you…or at least glad you went a little slow for me!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Publix GA Half Marathon, ATL | Chasing Pavement - April 6, 2013

    […] that. Drinks and energy every 2 miles. I love that. I consider those spots to be  my walk breaks, The Palmetto Bluff was the same way. Every single  2 miles, i got a little walk in to lower my heart rate and gear […]

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nadeau - Blog With a Soul

Just another WordPress.com site

Savannah & Beyond

Real Estate Photography

Running With Rehse

From start to finish, the journey to my first marathon.

I Heart Running

Vegan, Marathon Runner, Running A Marathon In All 50 States While Chasing A Sub 3 Marathon

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Tambra Means - gingermantra

"Never compare your beginning to someone else's middle" - jon acuff

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

How My World Runs

My adventures in running and a healthy life. Learning as I go!

HayleyHobsonBlog.com

Please note my new Blog address above.....

LocalSportsReviews.com (coming soon)

Sporting Local Athlete Reviews & Listings

Running "Beast Mode"!!!

The impossible is possible.....

natalielong30's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Savannah Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club For Moms of the 2 or 4 legged

The Lambent Life

Living Simply, Simply Living.

